Artists Feature: Ambient Music

Ambient music can be anywhere from relaxing to inspiring to mind boggling (in a fun way). While listening to a good ambient song, we can sit back, close our eyes and have the most interesting images fly through our heads. Below is just a small sampling of some of the great artists out there who are teasing our minds with their ambient goodness.

Don’t close your eyes for this one. Hammock stimulates your ears and eyes with their haunting tale “Cold Front” from their album “Departure Songs.”

Mikhail Medvedev doesn’t just have an amazing cat, he has created a beautiful song called “Memories.”

You can learn a lot from Andy – really you can.  His site reverbnerds.com has video tips to help you if you are just starting to tinker in ambient sounds.  Andy has so many good videos to feature, but we had to go with “Famine and the Death of a Mother” from his new album “This Is For Our Sins,” which captures a sense of isolation and loss.

Jeffrey Niemeir teases 15 seconds of ambient beauty.

This is a perfect one to close your eyes to and let the song take you away. “Gravitáció” by …A Többi Néma Csend is a perfect journey through your mind. Maybe a gallop on the beach or a run through the poppies, On Mountains provides the soundtrack for a gorgeous day.

Want to hear more? Also check out Ivan Ujević, Chords of Orion, and Jon Carolino. If you have any of your own ambient songs or enjoy someone else’s that you’d like to share, please post the link below.

About Angela
Angela Heine is all things social. When not socializing on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, she is looking for whales. Angela is constantly listening to music, some favorites are Snow Patrol, Sufjan Stevens, Skinny Puppy (ok, she also likes bands that don’t start with S).

22 Responses

  1. Antoine says:

    Those are all artists I love and respect. I even have some new ones to discover 🙂

    I also have a ambient guitar channel with a lot of Strymon stuff. You should check it ! Monochrome Seasons


  2. Rob Townley says:

    Hey don’t forget my album – Heaven Sonic !

  3. Tyler says:

    Great post! Love the memories acoustic one.

    Our new album has the timeline and bigsky all over it. We even tracked a glockenspiel running through the big sky! Get it free here – http://www.noisetrade.com/forum


    • Angela says:

      @Tyler, Thanks for the download. Just had the first listen through and really enjoyed all the tracks. Will be giving them all many more listens 😀

  4. Todd Madson says:

    I did a collection of vignettes with the BigSky shortly after I got it and went crazy and did a 25 minute youtube video of various things I worked on. The video isn’t much to look at, just a collection of still shots.

    Anyway, all of this is basically processed electric guitar and it wouldn’t sound like this without the Big Sky as the end of the chain:


  5. i’m a huge fan of Strymon and this post just happens to have some of my favourite ambient artists.

    check us out , i’m sure you won’t be disappointed 🙂


    love from Bangalore, India xx

  6. Don Hicks says:

    My ambient song with a bluesy edge is called, “Violynn”. It features violin, chin cello, and mandolin.
    You can see it at:

  7. Don Hicks says:

    An album featuring “Violynn” and other ambient violin, chin cello, mandolin pieces is available at:

  8. Steve says:

    Strymon + Rhodes + Bass Station II = Ambient Heaven

  9. lumena says:

    Mikhail Medvedev is cheating… it is obvious that the Cat is a bioneural interface and even though I want to believe it can all be done with just strymon pedals, I know in my heart that it would only be a pale imitation of the true sound. I am so happy you posted this video because now I can prove to my boyfriend that my music will truly suffer if I don’t get a cat that one.

  10. Mallory says:

    Woohoo go Andy! He’s the best of the genre, no doubt. Check out This Is For Our Sins 🙂

  11. B J Boyd says:

    I thought I’d do something a little bit festive and recorded a version of Silent Night using the Big Sky.
    Basically a straightforward 4 track mix. The sound has not been treated in anyway by plug-ins. Enjoy

Leave a Reply